fabric shopping – ahmedabad

Ahmedabad has already been a dream for this textile lover, and it’s only my first stop in Gujarat.  I spent an entire afternoon at one of the city’s best known fabric shops, overwhelmed by stacks and stacks of cottons and silks.

The shop in Manek Chowk market is over sixty years old, and the family has been involved in the textile industry for over four generations.  As with many others in Gujarat, the task of preserving and promoting traditional (and local) textile production is a high priority and one they remind me of several times during my visit.  In a few weeks, I’ll be spending some time with the block printers who supply some of the fabrics in Kutch.

Over chai and chats with the owners, I chose a few dozen yards of block print florals that will become part of a small accessories collection inspired by my time in India.

Leave a Reply

